Published 25.2.2022

Lapland UAS Student Union ROTKO condems the military attack done by the Russian federation. Russia's hostilities are contrary to international law.

"Our thoughts are now with all the students living in Finland who are affected by the situation and who are close to them in the war zone."

Ulla-Maija Karjalainen, Lapland ROTKO, Chairperson of the Representatives.

The European Union must act as one in support of Ukraine and its people. More sanctions must be imposed on Russia and Russia must be demanded to end its hostilities in Ukraine immediately.

In particular, Finland must increase the humanitarian and financial means of support by which we can help Ukraine in this difficult situation. Each of us can help by donating to those who take humanitarian aid to Ukraine’s conflict zones. In addition, disseminating information about the war from reliable sources on your own networks can help.

We would also like to remind that the situation is not the cause of Russian citizens or Russian-speakers living in Finland. We must not give space to discrimination.

A crisis can upset the mind and cause distressing feelings. However, you do not have to be left alone with your thoughts. Chat help is available in the following places, for example:

𝗠𝗜𝗘𝗟𝗜 ry (Mental Health Finland) The emergency telephone is available 24 hours a day, every day at 09 2525 0111. You can call anonymously and confidentially.

Nyyti 𝗿𝘆 offers group chats and one-to-one peer-chats on a weekly basis. In a one-to-one chat, you can talk to a volunteer peer advisor about any topic related to mental well-being or student life. MielenTEKoja chat is on duty on Mondays and Thursdays from 5 pm to 7 pm.

𝗦𝗲𝗸𝗮𝗶𝘀𝗶𝗻-𝗰𝗵𝗮𝘁 serves 9-24 on weekdays and 15-24 on weekends. The chat is aimed at young people aged 12-29.

Emergency telephone for foreigners 09 4135 0501 Finnish Mental Health Society on weekdays from 9 am to 3 pm.

Do not be afraid to contact the above. You can also contact the Lapland UAS’s support services.

On behalf of Student Union ROTKO,

Rovaniemi 25.2.2022

Ulla-Maija Karjalainen
Chairperson of the Representatives

Julia Nikusaari
Chairperson of the board

Elina Holm 
Executive Director